Under 15 Diocesan Touch Football 2021

On Thursday 18 March 46 students attended the under 15 Diocesan Touch Football trials at Inverell. Three girls teams and 2 boys teams competed against schools from the Armidale Diocese including; St Mary’s Gunnedah, O’Connor Catholic College Armidale, Holy Trinity Inverell and St Philomena’s Moree. 


There was some great play from all teams involved and some really good sportsmanship and teamwork involved. The girls and boys McCarthy 1 teams in particular were very successful and combined well to score great tries. Many of the teams improved throughout the day as they developed their skills and applied Touch Football specific strategies. Several students from the boys and girls teams were selected in the Possibles v Probables match at the end of the day. Six students were successful in making the team; Tarnee Ingram, Emily Dietrich, Jessica Martin, Adam Davis, Lawson Thompson and Sam Butcher. Congratulations to all these students. Thank you to Mrs Tanya Laird and Mrs Samantha Cox for coaching and assisting on the day and to Joshua Martin and Sebastian Lawler from Year 10 who refereed very competently. Good luck to the 6 students for the NSW CCC Touch Football Championships in Nelson Bay. 


The following students represented McCarthy at the Diocesan Under 15 Touch Football Championships:


Amber Burrows, Kaitlin Burgess, Lily Dow, Ellie May Desborough, Hannah Wakely, Janina Willoughby, Alisha Nixon, Ellie Tyrna, Mackenzie Mearns, Jayla Kelly, Sommer Fitzgibbon, Tahlia Kelly, Janae Griffiths, Zahlee Betts, Chelsie Ashford, Breanna Elliott, Amelia Traill, Charlotte Bridge, Jayda Constable, Lauren Daye, Grace Shanley, Tahlia Shepherd, Tarnee Ingram, Emily Dietrich, Jess Martin, Isabella Bolsom, Claudia Kenniff, Sam Butcher, Jayce Tavo, Logan Ruffell, Jimmy Purkiss, Lawson Thompson, Blake Patterson, Adam Davis, Matt Gallagher, Rohan Martin, Brendan Irwin, Luke Leys, Ben Cini, Nicholas Maloney, Jack Kelly, Thomas Errington, Mason Nawer, Logan Fielder and Jesse Selleto


Diocesan Swimming 

On Thursday 11 March 2021 18 students represented the College at the Diocesan Swimming trials at Gunnedah. There were some outstanding performances throughout the day with our students excelling in several events.  


Hallie Berton swam brilliantly winning 4 events in the 16 Years girls' division and deservedly won Age Champion. The standard of competition was high and many swam personal best times. Nine students qualified for the NSW CCC Swimming Championships in Sydney to be held on Monday 29 March. These students included Tilani Smith, Joshua Beard, Georgia Williams, Hallie Berton, Connor Lavender, Lawson Thompson, Campbell Thompson, Lauren Barnes, and Jarius Macogay. 


The All Age School Relay was a highlight and one of the final races of the day. The McCarthy team was narrowly beaten by St Mary’s in an exciting race. Well done to all students who competed on the day. McCarthy was also well represented on the day by Holly Beard, Jack Benjamin, Colbie Butler, Kendra Franklin, Ryan Hawker, Oscar Krogh, Kaitlin Rheinberger, Grace Goodfellow and Elouise McCann.


A big thank you to the St Mary’s Gunnedah students for timing the races, Mr Tim Kennedy, Diocesan Sport Coordinator, who organised the day and the parents who transported and supported students throughout the day.


Sporting Achievements

Congratulations to Isla Lett Year 7 who played in the U12's Water Polo Festival at Orange in a Tamworth mixed team. She earned a bronze medal. 


Congratulations to Liam Gordon and Isabella Wall who both won gold at the NSW Athletics Championships in Sydney in the 400m sprint. Isabella also qualified in the 800m metres for the National Championships. 


Congratulations to Tarnee Ingram, Lauren Daye, and Tomi Gavin who made the Northern Country Knights under 15 girls' Oztag team to play City. Also selected in the 16's team was Monique Corbett and 14's team Emily Dietrich.


NSW CCC Swimming 2021

On Monday 29 March seven students from McCarthy Catholic College participated in the NSW CCC Swimming Championships at the Olympic Aquatic Centre in Sydney; Tilani Smith, Lawson Thompson, Campbell Thompson, Josh Beard, Georgia Williams, Lauren Barnes and Hallie Berton. All swimmers put in great performances many personal best times. The competition was very strong and they should all be proud of their efforts. 


A big congratulations to Tilani Smith who won a gold medal in the 13 year girls' 50 metre breaststroke and a silver in the junior girls' 100 metre breaststroke. Tilani will now represent NSW CCC in the All Schools' Swimming Championships to be held on Friday 28 May 2021 at the Olympic Aquatic Centre in Sydney. Good luck Tilani. A huge thank you to all the parents who travelled down and supported the students. 


Mr  Brad Mitchell - Sport Coordinator