Student Leadership

Oblate Leadership Summit

On 18 February, five members of the student leadership team, accompanied by Mr Watson and Mr Payne, departed for Brisbane for the annual Oblate Leadership Conference. The conference allows the student leaders from Mazenod College WA, Mazenod College Victoria, Iona College Brisbane and St Eugene’s College (Qld) to gather as an Oblate community and learn from each other about leadership in our final year of school.



This year’s conference was hosted by Iona College and the families of it's student leaders hosted us for the duration. The conference offered valuable insight into the different leadership structures and styles employed by our three brother schools through 15 minute presentations from each, and we used this to help develop our own leadership style. The most beneficial part of the conference was talking to past Captains and Vice Captains of Iona who showed us that, while there will be challenges and obstacles in our path, the way we choose to respond to those obstacles will define who we are as leaders. The conference was a great success and we definitely got a lot out of the experience.


Giacomo Paduano

College Captain

Year 8 Leadership Team

Congratulations to all the students successfully appointed to the Year 8 Leadership Team. The boys were informed of their appointment and presented with a leadership badge by Mr Ronan at the Year Assembly last Friday. The Year 8 leaders will be taking part in a leadership excursion next Wed 6th March, along with the students appointed to similar positions in Year 7.




The Year 8 Form Representatives for Semester 1 are Jayden Raschella, Zaid Buckland, Christopher Glass, Riley Ozanne, Tom Murnane, Daniel Parks, Damien Chikwaka, Samuel Gilkinson, Cody Watson and Jason Jefferson. The House Representatives for the year are Michael De Gasperis, Jared Henderson, Harrison Basioli, Michael Opechowski, Brendan Powell and Julian Munns.


Thank you to all the students who applied for a leadership position and I would like to wish our successful applicants well for the year ahead.


John Donaghy

Head of Year 8