From the Archives
Celebrating 50 Years as Kinross Wolaroi
From the Archives
Celebrating 50 Years as Kinross Wolaroi
PLC Orange was re-named Kinross School at the beginning of 1973. While embracing a new era, Kinross was eager to showcase its country heritage, reflected in images such as this of the PLC site …complete with cows.
The name change had been firmly established by the time Kinross and Wolaroi College merged from the beginning of 1975….hence the Kinross in Kinross Wolaroi School.
The Kinross Wolaroi School Cadet Unit will celebrate its 80th anniversary in 2025. Originally established at Wolaroi College in 1945, the unit survived the ebbs and flows of history, and was a feature at events in the early years of Kinross Wolaroi from 1975 onwards.
For many years, the Kinross Wolaroi School Cadet Unit was accompanied by a much-loved pony named Wally. Donated by a student in 1969, he was named Wally as a reference to Wolaroi College.
During his career, Wally was presented to Royalty, Vice Regal representatives, High Commissioners and senior Military personnel, apparently loving every minute of the pomp and ceremony required.
Wally passed away in 1984, aged 21 years old.