All the colour of the Carnival

Inter-House Athletics Carnival at Ern Clark Athletics

On Friday 16 August the College held its annual Inter-House Athletics Carnival at Ern Clark Athletics Centre. In a race against time, wet weather held off long enough to ensure we could finish the day. The energy and enthusiasm shown by students, staff and parents is what makes a St Norbert College Athletics Carnival so special.


I would like to thank all student helpers, staff and parents who assisted on the day.


Magdeburg House showed great spirit, cheering on their House and trying their hardest throughout the novelty events and won the Spirit Bear award for 2019. Congratulations to Head of Magdeburg House, Patrick Ah Fong and Magdeburg staff and students.


In a first, the students team won the staff vs student race. The staff team have already started training for 2020 to ensure this does not happen again. Congratulations students.


The overall House champion trophy was won by Tongerlo House for the second consecutive year. Congratulations to Head of Tongerlo House, Bronson Gherardi and the Tongerlo staff and students.


Individual year champions and runners up, pictured above, who were awarded their medals at Assembly, are listed below along with new record holders:


Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Kane Irvine – Champion

Nick Miragliotta – Runner Up


Angelina Smith – Champion

Claudia Didiwik – Runner Up

Vlad Lavi – Champion

Abhay Sewdyal – Runner Up


Paige Craven Bower – Champion

Summer Pollard – Runner Up

Ethan Port Louis – Champion

Mathieu Eustasie – Runner Up


Holly Girls – Champion

Neve Adnams – Runner Up


Year 10


Champion House

Jordan Blaize Lightbourn – Champion

Kyran Taylor – Runner Up


Zeta Stevens – Champion

Alina George – Runner Up

Lubin Benedict – Champion

Cooper Jenkins – Runner Up


Chloe Reder – Champion

Carissa O’Sullivan – Runner Up

1st  Tongerlo  (10030 points)

2nd Kilnacrott  (9767 points)

3rd Prémontré   (9685 points)

4th Xanten    (9175 points)

5th Magdeburg   (9002 points)


New Athletics Record

Year 7 Male High Jump – Kane Irvine – 1.45m

Year 8 Female High Jump – Paige Craven Bower – 1.45m

Year 8 Female Shop Put – Paige Craven Bower – 8.98m

Year 10 Female Long Jump – Zeta Stevens – 4.82m

Year 10 Male Discus – Alex De Silva – 38.22m

Year 10 Male Shot Put – Alex De Silva – 13.52m

Year 10 Male High Jump – Connor Chehab – 1.80m

Open Female 1500m – Chloe Reder – 5.53.53

Open Male 1500m – Jaco Jansen van Rensburg – 4.09.74

Open Male Discuss – Mukuka Chibale – 33m



Mr L Ford (Head of Sport)

Gold for snap-happy Media Team

If a picture is worth a thousand words then our photo album of the 2019 Inter-house Athletics Carnival is priceless. The Media Team, led by Jessica Ramos, excelled in capturing all the colour of the carnival both on and off the track.


Wearing their official Media Passes and sticking to a tight-running roster of 30-minute shot blocks, the photographers tag-teamed throughout the day, racing back to the Production Desk (on the hour or half-hour) where their images were downloaded. Frances Macapili, who continually produces outstanding sports photography, proved equally as snap-happy capturing golden sporting moments as she did in focusing on the high-spirited spectators. Some of Frances's images are shown in the first of three galleries, below, followed by two galleries of winning pictures by the Team.

Thank you to all the Media Team photographers and production assistants - Sasha, Frances, Allyson, Maria, Emma, Ali, Lily, Rachel, Aaron, Jessica, Ethan, Phoebe, Ashley, Theresa, Connor, Christine, Ayden and Jeremy - for their valuable work.

                                                                                       Mrs L Quartermain (Community Relations and Marketing)